Get Updates

There are now 3,784 local New Plymouth students who will benefit from the new Central New Plymouth Community of Learning.  This involves six schools from across the New Plymouth area.
“Communities of Learning allow better transitions for students from early childhood to school to tertiary, as well as shared teaching practices and expertise.  Educators work alongside each other on shared goals to help improve outcomes for our local kids.
“Also in the New Plymouth electorate Opunake High School has joined the new South Taranaki – Hawera Community of Learning, which has 2,723 students across 13 schools.  Included also is Egmont Village School who are already part of the Inglewood Community of Learning.
“I’m proud our education profession recognise that working together they can achieve even more for our children.”
“Across the country we now have more than 1,503 schools in Communities of Learning – this is 60 per cent of New Zealand schools.  In addition, there are 95 early childhood education and tertiary providers involved,” Jonathan Young said.
The communities are funded through the National-led Government’s $359 million Investing in Educational Success initiative.  Evidence shows quality of teaching and school leadership are the two most important factors in a child’s education, so the Government is supporting those areas.
“National is focusing on improving performance across the education system to ensure every child has the opportunity to succeed,” Jonathan Young said.

Share this post